Entries by AmCham Taipei

Forum Highlights Benefits of Private Equity

AmCham Taipei, along with the U.S.-Taiwan Business Council based in the Washington DC area, provided support for a Sept. 14 forum entitled “Private Equity in Taiwan: A Pathway to Growth.” The event was jointly organized by the American Institute in Taiwan (AIT) and the Ministry of Economic Affairs. In recent years Taiwan has attracted very […]

We’re Hiring: Opening for Associate Editor

The American Chamber of Commerce in Taipei is seeking a full-time Associate Editor for its Taiwan Business TOPICS monthly publication and TOPICS Online. The job requires a high professional level of reporting and editing skills, and a working ability in Mandarin Chinese.  Experience in business journalism is preferred. Interested parties should contact Jessica Chen at […]

A Party for AmCham’s 67th Birthday 

More than 120 AmCham Taipei members and guests turned out on September 20 to help the Chamber celebrate the 67th anniversary of its establishment in 1951. The event was held in the elegant Xifu Hall on the 9th floor of the Grand Mayfull Hotel in Taipei’s fast-growing Dazhi District. Attendees enjoyed an evening of convivial […]

Amendments to the Company Act

Recognizing the need to enhance Taiwan’s business environment to stay competitive in the global market, the Tsai administration has enacted a series of ambitious policy changes and legal amendments aimed at stimulating innovation and growth. Most fundamental to these goals are the sweeping changes made to the Company Act, Taiwan’s basic law governing business operations, […]

Developing Habits to Improve Leadership Presence

Presence has become a critical factor for today’s professionals. How you present yourself to others and having the ability to make lasting impressions is crucial to your success. With the aim to provide development tools for business leaders, AmCham Taipei invited Rober Iyer, Executive and Training Coach of Inspiyer, to conduct a half-day seminar on […]

AmCham Committees Brief U.S. Group

A U.S. team led by Acting Assistant U.S. Trade Representative Terry McCartin arrived in Taiwan on September 11 for consultations with their Taiwan government counterparts on a variety of issues related to bilateral trade and investment. Others members of the group included Tsering Dhongthog, USTR’s Director for Taiwan Affairs, and representatives from the Departments of […]

New AIT Director Meets with Board Members

Brent Christensen, the newly arrived Director of the American Institute in Taipei, met with members of the AmCham Taipei Board on Sept. 5 to discuss the U.S. government’s new Indo-Pacific Strategy as well as current trends and concerns in the technology, biomedicine, infrastructure, and healthcare sectors. Deputy Director Ray Greene and representatives from AIT’s economic, […]

Coaching Your Team to Improve Performance and Succeed

While all leaders should have the skills to manage, train, and teach, effective leaders also possess the ability to motivate and inspire teams to perform at higher levels. On August 22, William Zyzo, Managing Director of Z&A Knowledge Solutions and Advisor to AmCham Taipei’s Advanced Learning Lab, conducted a half-day workshop at the Chamber’s Lincoln […]

CSR Forum Focuses on Social Enterprises

Describing social enterprises as an “important part of Taiwan’s soft power,” Audrey Tang, Taiwan’s Digital Minister, hailed their ability to meld the pursuit of social interests and business profits – forces usually thought of as being in conflict – to facilitate the search for common shared values and solutions. She made her remarks as the keynote speaker […]